May 6, 2011

February 5, 1949 … May 6, 2011

Many good lives have passed through that space.

One of the kindest, most beautiful, most thoughtful and most lived-outside-of-self lives was Lin’s.

She passed away this afternoon. Moving on to a new field of action.

Services will be held next Saturday morning, May 14th at 10AM at The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, at 13025 Wornall Rd in Kansas City (corner of Wornall and Blue Ridge). Burial will be at Longview Cemetery, 12700 Raytown Road, Kansas City, MO 64149 that day.

The Circle of Life extends and expands. Lin learned a short time ago of another grandchild to be born, on January 3, 2011. There will then be 22 in the Lin and Lorin Walker Clan.

One of her Texas friends, Julia Pratt, recently wrote about Lin: “She was a true artist in every way and she had the MIDAS touch. She was amazing with everything she touched– food, clay, cloth, thread, children, friends. etc”

We all look forward to seeing Lin again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to May 6, 2011

  1. Dan Uhl says:

    I dare say that everyone who knew Lin received something from her. My family certainly did. More than we deserved.

    Our deepest sympathies to you and yours.

  2. DEB Hillen says:

    Such a sad day. Lin will be missed more than she could have known.
    Deb

  3. Suzanne Riggin says:

    Lin certainly impacted my existence… yes, I can hardly wait to see her again. What a grand reunion for all of us who love her. Thanks for letting us know, Lorin. I continue to remember you and yours in my prayers.
    Suzanne Riggin, Lin’s friend and fellow Bernina instructor

  4. Wendy Thornberry Stonerock says:

    My thoughts and prayers are with you now Lorin, and your entire family. I really don’t know of anything else to say except I am so very sorry. God be with you and your family and keep you until each of you are with Lin again

  5. Addie says:

    Dreaded seeing this. So sorry, and hoping you continue to find comfort in your faith, family and friends.

  6. Jaime says:

    My deepest sympathy…Lin was an amazing inspiration to us all. I look forward to seeing her again in the things I sew and in the future when we meet again.

  7. Sandy Whitehead says:

    My thoughts have been with you and your family almost constantly over the last few weeks….I’m saddened by her passing, but happy that she is no longer held captive by her cancer. How grateful we can all be to know that we will see her again one day.

  8. Toni Stapley says:

    Those above have expressed my sentiments better than I could. I would just like to add that I have and will continue to pray that the spirit will bless each of you with comfort and all you need. I care about each one of you. I am joyful that Lin has been relieved of her pain. I am so grateful for my memories of her.

  9. Elizabeth says:

    “Lin, may your memory be a blessing”… my deceased mother’s birthday is May 6th, as is my mother’s sister Elizabeth, whom I was named after…this date is forever etched in my mind…with unspeakable sorrow, Elizabeth

  10. Mickie Pittman says:

    We will truly miss Lin. She was an exceptional person in every way. She had a calming effect to be enjoyed. What Julia Pratt said about her is certainly true. She was not only artistic, but could help those of us less endowed with our goals, whether in art or inner fulfillment.

    We send our love and condolences to you, Lorin, and your sweet family. May you be comforted in the knowledge that you will all be together again, according to your faithfulness.

    Love,
    Pitt and Mickie Pittman

  11. Chris Fuller says:

    What a wonderful person Lin was to so many of us! We are indeed thankful for her presence in our lives and will remember her always.
    Sincerely,
    Chris Fuller

  12. Linda Martin says:

    Tears of sadness for the loss we all feel and tears of joy for Lin’s release from pain. Thank you, Lorin, for sharing this time with all of us who have loved Lin through the years and will carry her in our hearts always. She was my roommate, my friend, my maid of honor, my daughter’s namesake, and my example of what quiet beauty and courage is all about. May the Lord enfold each of you in His arms and fill you with the sweet assurance that Lin is fine and you will all be together again one day-and then it’s forever. Linda

  13. Linda Vroman says:

    Deeply sorry to learn of Lin’s passing, but glad she doesn’t have to suffer anymore on this earth. She was a beautiful person and I loved her. She was also my roommate and I too have a daughter named after her. We just never know what kind of a legacy we will leave behind as we interact and mingle with friends and family. She truly left her mark on mine. I send blessings of peace to you and your family Lorin.

  14. Lynn Thompson Loving says:

    I am so glad I was able to travel out to KC to visit with Lin last fall. I’ve known her since 7th grade and we were roommates at BYU. Her courage and friendship will transcend time. I will never forget her.

  15. Tom Ainsworth says:

    My prayers are with you and your family. May you be lifted up by your faith, family and friends.

  16. Patti Buhler says:

    I will never go to Houston without thinking of Lin. I tagged along my first trip. We were happy that we each could allow the other to do our own thing and didn’t have to be together every minute but did have times that we enjoyed together. Lin had me join the Quilt guild and we went to the meeting because then we’d get preferred seating at the fashion show. At one point I looked at her and wondered if one day we’d be wandering around the show in matching t-shirts like so many women. She was pretty emphatic that that would never happen! I agreed with her. She was a wonderful woman. I met her at Bernina Club and went up one day to ask if she was LDS (since she’d said some “code word” like Bishop, son on a mission, or something like that). It’s so wonderful to find sisters in your life. I wish I could be at the funeral but sadly I can’t. I’ll be thinking of you all. It will seem like forever now but in an eternal perspective it’s just a moment before you’ll be together again.

  17. elizabeth says:

    It was so wonderful to get to know Lin again when she found me for our 40th high school reunion. I will miss her generous and loving spirit. May 6 is my birthday so I will not forget the passing of her very sweet soul.

  18. The grace of Lin will live on in our hearts. She touched so many with her love of many arts and always loving her family and others more. We are thankful and blessed to have had Lin in our fabric family. Elaine and The Harper’s Girls

Leave a Reply

