April 29,2011

As the time draws near, our feelings are deep, immediate and tender.

Lin asked each child, individually, into her room 2 nights ago, for a personal conversation. Somehow she found the strength for a soulful goodbye with each.

She is no longer able to process food through the feeding tube, so that is gone. We are close.

Her two sisters, and our good friend Denise, are flying and driving in today. The circle of family and friends draws closer and warmer. Our cat Gobo Fango spends most of his time in the room, keeping vigil.

Sitting here at her side gives me a great view of our back property cliff/forest. I see things I have never before seen. I have seen a bluebird defending its new territory. I have seen a bluebird chase a squirrel up and down a tree and into its hole. I have seen a bluebird locked in aerial combat with a red male cardinal when it got too close to the nesting box, blood red and sky blue wrapping and dancing together up and down and up. The cardinal, tho the much larger bird, eventually fled.

I have seen the finish line, not far ahead, still running this almost 10 month marathon side by side with my eternal companion. She gives her love and thanks to all of you. Lean through the tape.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to April 29,2011

  1. Val Reaves says:

    Thank you for the posting…you are so eloquent… My prayers are with you and yours..
    Val

  2. Lissa Bitton says:

    It is a sad time but glad she had the strength to visit with each of her children – she is a beautiful, talented lady with an awesome spirit and everyone will miss her greatly. Hope her last days are peaceful – give her love from her Idaho Family!

    Luv you all,

    Lissa

  3. Marilyn Petree says:

    May crossing the finish line be a beautiful experience for you all. With the Lord by your side, I know that He can make it so.

  4. Wendy Thornberry Stonerock says:

    I hate reading your last post as I am the eternal optimist, always hoping and praying for a miracle. I continue to think and pray for Lin and your entire family, more so now,
    as her time draws near. Love to her – may God be with you all.

    • walkerswalkabout says:

      Wendy, we appreciate the words.

      Actually, the miracle has already occurred. Maybe not what I would have ordered up, but what is in the plan and economy of God.

      Her life and her words are the miracle–“Lorin, I have had a good life. I have had a happy life. I feel complete. There are no loose ends.”

      Sort of sounds like the gold standard, doesn’t it?

      • Wendy Thornberry Stonerock says:

        Faith and love is what it all eventually comes down to, and you and Lin have experienced so much together that others can only hope to be as blessed in life. Thank you for your beautiful and spiritual view and thoughts, knowing that God will help her through this and be there waiting for her. You and your family will also feel his presence and strength to help you and guide you. Thank you again for sharing so much will all of us. God be with you all!!!!

  5. Sandy Whitehead says:

    Peace and comfort to you all.

  6. Pat Conner says:

    Lorin and all. Thank you for all you acts of love and sharing. Mike, Mom (Aunt Jo) and I continue to hold Lin and you all in our thoughts and prayers. Debbie Macomber in her book ONE SIMPLE ACT shared a poem about when it’s time to let go. Hope you can take some comfort from it.

    Gone from My Sight
    by Henry Van Dyke

    I am standing upon the seashore
    A ship at my side spreads her white
    sails to the morning breeze and starts
    for the blue ocean.

    She is an object of beauty and strength.
    I stand and watch her until at length
    she hangs like a speck of white cloud just where the sea and sky come
    to mingle with each other.

    Then someone at my side says:
    “There, she is gone?”
    “Gone where?”

    Gone from my sight. This is all.
    She is just as large in mast and hull
    and spar as she was when she left my side
    and she is just as able to bear her
    load of living freight to her destined port.

    Her diminished size is in me, not in her.

    And just at the moment when someone
    at my side says: “There, she is gone!”
    there are other eyes watching her coming, and other voices ready to take up the glad shout;

    “Here she comes!”

  7. elizabeth says:

    The words of Dylan Thomas “do not go gentle into that good night” mean to me that we should hold on and cherish life until we can no longer control our slipping into that “good night”. Lin has done this with courage, grace, dignity and love.

    Blessings to all of you.

  8. Deb Hillen says:

    Pat, what a wonderful poem.
    Lorin, Thank you for spending time sharing your Lin with us all.
    That is about the only thing no one can make, More time. We just have to take advantage of what ever we are given.
    Lin, you have used your time wisely to have so many wonderful friends and such a loving family.
    Deb

  9. Suzanne E says:

    I ache with such a profound pain for all of you during this difficult time. Please let Lin know that she is very much loved by many. She touched us with her knowledge, beauty, and spirit through her fiber art, book art and garment sewing. I pray that this final transition can be gentle on Lin, on you and on your children. If I could, I would wish away all of the heart break/ache that you all are most certainly living through now.

  10. Clair Walker says:

    No words…Only loss…

  11. Dan Uhl says:

    I have often wondered which is better, to die quickly or to linger for a long time. I can see the pros and cons of both ways. Not just for the person departing, but also for those left behind. Not surprisingly, the answer probably differs for each person and each situation.

    But, what I have found through my experience is that the sorrow at passing is just as intense, regardless of the duration of the death experience. That is what happens when someone we love passes on – we sorrow.

    I suspect that the SORROW that one who departs must feel is balanced by the JOYful reunion with family and friends that have predeceased.

    The SORROW that those of us left behind feel must be balanced by the HOPE of reuniting once again with our family and friends, at a future date and time.

    My hope for you, the Walker family, is that the Holy Spirit will COMFORT you in your time of SORROW and illuminate the HOPE for a beautiful, JOYful future reunion.

  12. Linda Vroman says:

    Sending one more gift of love to my dear friend Lin. You have made a difference in the lives of so many of us. Truly your life has been full of love and filled with joy. We will miss your sweet spirit. Until we meet again…

  13. Diana Frerichs says:

    I feel a familiar pain-I felt it before in my life when another great soul passed from my sight. I will be forever grateful for the experience of them both. So I will suffer the pain and give thanks for it. Love to you all. Diana

  14. Sandy Block says:

    Lorin, your words and observations give me an intimate sense of closeness to Lin as she makes this transition, and I cannot express my appreciation enough. Thank you for your detailed descriptions, insight, loving words and for sharing your raw emotions. As you sit next to her bed, you are respresenting those of us who love Lin so dearly. I hope that is apparent to Lin and that it fills you with strength.

  15. Tom Mehle says:

    Lorin … most of us will face the departure of a loved one at some point in our lives. Your eloquent words serve as a model and a goal for how to deal gracefully with these most difficult times. Thank you.

    Tom

  16. Elizabeth says:

    “Greater is the day of death declares King Solomon in the book of Ecclesiastes, than the day of birth!” filled with sorrow, Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

