March 30, 2011

Some fun things happening.

Silverado, episodes from the Firefly TV SciFi series, the cooking channel have been Lin’s flicks of choice on the biggish screen in our living room. We are having fun watching them with her. And I occasionally watch March Madness, tho it has turned into March Sadness with my two teams being bounced out.

Oh, and a new grand-daughter. A BIG new grand-daughter—almost 10 pounds. That’s about 50% of Kadra’s body weight. A bit of a hard birth, but well done. Kadra looks radiant, the baby is, well… BEAUTIFUL. She was named Sarah Lin Pixton, so Lin is her namesake. And Sarah is a name I have always loved, and would have named a daughter, if things had happened that way. This too has been a lot of fun.

And some not so fun things. For Lin’s part, she wishes to report that a slow but steady decline continues. Not unexpected, but not welcome. Our angels continue to visit us. We continue to manage.

Lin’s most recent request? For thank you cards. You know her. Securing them now.

We thank all for your thoughts, prayers, and………food.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to March 30, 2011

  1. Sandy Block says:

    Thank you, Lorin, for the update, always tenderly worded and so descriptive. So glad to hear that Sarah Lin has arrived safely, and I hope that she will grow up with the talents of her namesake. Please assure Lin that I think of her at least a million times a day and that I love her.

  2. I really liked the Firefly TV show. Like so many other things in my life, I wonder what it would be like if I had more… but I’m blissfully content with what I have. Sorry about your B-ball teams. 😦

  3. Linda Vroman says:

    One more thing we roomies have in common…I love Firefly! The main character is pretty good in his new series as Castle too. One episode was particulary funny when he wore his Firefly cowboy outfit as a Halloween costume and his daughter says, “Didn’t you wear that last year?” He replies, “Yes, but I it’s my favorite thing to wear.” (Or something along those lines.) Glad to hear you are enjoying the spring weather and flowers. We are so flower deprived in Alaska in the sprintime, that my girls didn’t know they were weeds and used to pick large bouquets! Love to you, Linda

  4. Wendy Thornberry Stonerock says:

    CONGRATULATIONS on the new beautiful granddaughter. What a lovely name she has! Glad you are enjoying your TV episodes together. Continuing to think about and pray for all of you. God bless!!

    • Sandy Whitehead says:

      How wonderful! A new grand daughter! And such a lovely name! I think of you often, Lin, and I wish I were closer, so I could see you. Take care…I’m glad to know the angels are with you.

  5. Carol Fox-White says:

    Thanks once again for sharing. I’ll have to look into those tv shows. I do really like Castle. Anyway, I digress. Congratulations on the birth of your granddaughter. I like that name!! Everything will seem a bit brighter with the sun and some flowers blooming.

  6. Marion Cain says:

    Thank you so much for sharing! So glad to hear the new granddaughter is here safely! You are in my thought and prayers nearly every day. What a special family and community surrounding you with love! I especially love reading about how Lin’s artistic touch has touched our lives!!

  7. elizabeth gaylord says:

    Congratulations on your new granddaughter and namesake! I don’t have any grandchildren yet but look forward to that. I am so happy you were able to experience this birth. 🙂

  8. Chris Fuller says:

    Congratulations on the birth of Sarah Lin! What a nice way to welcome the season of spring!! Lots of hugs for Lin….I think of her often!

  9. Patricia Rankin says:

    Dearest Lin, I have continued to keep you in my daily thoughts and prayers. I wish so much I could have made it out to see you. But I know you know I care for my 96 years young grand-mother. I have read the comments, and your husband’s warm and beautiful words. What a husband. Truly the words he writes regarding you are so loving and so tender. What a lucky manhe is and a lucky woman you are. How beautiful your love is for one another. You have been both blessed with 7 handsome guys and a beautiful daughter. They were sosme pretty lucky children to have a wonderful and loving mother and father. My prayers will continue to be you all. God Bless you. I am a better person for knowing you and having your dear sweet mother as a teacher. She was always special to me and Kenny.
    I continue to send prayers your way, and I love you for the person you are and always have been.
    Peace & Love, Pat

  10. Melissa Coffin says:

    Congratulations on the birth of your new granddaughter. I knew Lin 22 years ago when we lived in Cedar Hill. I had to comment when I read that her film of choice lately is Silverado! I have never forgotten her story of how one morning she woke up to see her very young son standing over her and he said, “I don’t wanna kill you and you don’t wanna be dead!” a Danny Glover quote from that movie. I have laughed for years about that. 🙂 Many hugs and prayers for Lin.

Leave a Reply

