Wednesday February 16, 2011

Guest blogger Austin here, Mom would have done the blog today but I wore her out today. Excellent past couple of days. Nausea seems to have finally conceded defeat and slunk into the corner. Next task is building her strength back up from the months in the hospital. We’ve been spending two (and often more, but thats all we will admit to) hours in the morning unhooked from the J and G tubes. Mom walking laps through the kitchen and living room (cleaning all the little things we males seem to miss) while I chase behind her watching for the slightest sign that she might wobble or fall. I’m sure it’s Karmic payback for the years of worry I gave her (or someone gave her, I’m pretty sure if you look up perfect in the dictionary my picture is right there, OK OK its a little further on next to punk something something kid).

Today was a  momentous day. We devised a backpack to free Mom from the confines of bed and carry her food supply with her. She also decided today was the day she was going to go down the stairs and visit her studio for the first time in two months. Turnabout is fair play, I was as nervous as I imagine she was when I was jumping off perfectly good bridges with a glorified rubber band attached.

Once she finished the tour of the studio and tackled the uphill part of the stairs equation, the happiness was just radiating from her. A couple more laps of the house and I had to cajole her back into bed to into bed for some rest with the promise of a test run of the new backpack in the evening.

So tonight there was a very special guest of honor attending dinner. MOM!

Good Times.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Wednesday February 16, 2011

  1. Sandy Block says:

    Oh, Austin, such incredibly-wonderful news. You may recall that the three of us shared wonderful buttermilk-battered french fries at Hyde Park Grill in Austin just two years ago. Unfortunately, the only thing that hasn’t changed since that beautiful Texas February day is my desire for more of the french fries. I have had the honor of hearing about the many adventures of the Walker Family, and I continue to be in awe of the love, respect and commitment that your family exudes. I would love to see you in the “charge nurse” capacity, the balance of your family under your direction and Lovely Lin defying the odds and continuing her matriarch status. Blessings and love to each of you. Please squeeze her hand, transfer all the strength and energy I can muster and tell her I love her.

  2. Linda Martin says:

    Wonderful news. Thanks for the update, Austin. You write with the same humor as your parents! Tell your mom I send lots of love and the energy of the universe.

  3. Marilyn Petree says:

    Austin, you also have a great gift for writing. I had to chuckle aloud as your words made the visuals in my mind : ) I’m so happy that you are able to be there. Hoping today is as exciting as yesterday! Lin – we love you!

  4. Wendy Thornberry Stonerock says:

    What fantastic news, Austin. Praying that all of the days to come are as good, or even better, than yesterday. Let your mom know that I think about her daily and that she continues to be in my thoughts and prayers. Thanks again for the update. God bless!!

  5. Carol Fox White says:

    Too funny Austin. I totally relate to my experience helping my mom after hip surgery. It is much more difficult to watch one taking the first wobbly step than it is to be the one taking it. What great news. Thanks for the update and keep up the good work!!

  6. This is great news. 🙂

  7. Toni says:

    Woo Hoo!! Austin you are doin’ a great job!! Keep up the good work!
    Love to you, Lin!! And to all of you hard working kids and Lorin!

  8. Linda Vroman says:

    So glad you are feeling better Lin. There’s nothing like a beautiful piece of material to lift the spirits, right?! I can see that the “writing genes” hit Austin too!! You have a great sense of humor and can convey it too…wonderful reading. Love to you and your wonderful family.

  9. Deb Hillen says:

    Thank you so much Austin for our weekly update! I’m so thrilled she got to go into the studio even for just a short visit.
    I bet having a family diner really perked up your spirits Lin! The back pack sounds like it will be just the ticket to get you up and moving around again.
    Austin you seem to have the same sense of humor your Mom does, Keep up the good work!
    Love to you all,
    Deb

  10. Ruth Soules says:

    This is so great Austin! Thanks for all the things you’ve done. Hope dinner was great!
    Wishing you well Lin! Happy Day tomorrow with Lorin! These are special days!

  11. Jaime says:

    Hooray for studio day! Lin, I think about you often while I am sewing, especially when I am pressing with my silk organza press cloth. Thanks for all the wonderful sewing tips.

  12. Suzanne Riggin says:

    Lin, you are blessed with a magnificent family – but no more than you deserve! Hey, I’m making a long western skirt out of the colorful polka dot slinky knit… we regularly need western clothes for our community events and it’s Rodeo Week in Tucson! So I will wear it in a most FUN remembrance of you, along with my red leather fringed cowgirl boots. Love you and remember you and yours daily in prayers.
    Suzanne

  13. Linda Rousseau says:

    Lin, I don’t think that I have ever thanked you for helping keep Layne off the streets. We were told that if we knew he was in a safe place to leave well enough alone because he might spook and run under a bridge or someplace even more dangerous. With your help and concern he has turmed into a fine man and a good father. I so appreciate all you did for him.
    It is wonderful that you are having some better days. Hopefully soon you will be able to do more of the things that bring you joy..
    Linda

  14. Shala says:

    Stupid Me! I had no idea I could leave a comment – I am not a computer person. I have been grateful to read of the pitfalls and progress as you all travel this difficult journey. I am so glad to hear that Lin is doing better and so glad that the family is all near. Austin, it gives me hope for my children to know that you are there lovingly taking care of your Mom. My love and best wishes to all of you. Lin keep it up!

Leave a Reply

