Wednesday, February 9th, 2011

Wednesday again and I am NOT in the hospital or  traipsing through a raging blizzard – a pleasant change!  I had a second round of the palliative chemo on Monday – will find out next week if it’s having any effect.  If not, that’s the last option for palliative treatment and we’ll just “go with the plan.”  I manage to get a few good hours our of every day – still having to be very careful about exposure to illness while my blood counts are so low.  All seven of my children are in town now – so good t0 have them close by.  Austin has taken over the responsibility of “head nurse” with everyone else filling in as needed. This is not what I wanted in my life, but I feel so blessed regardless.  As always, there is no possible way I could personally thank you for your cards,, funny little gifts, emails, etc.  Just please know you are all such a source of strength to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Wednesday, February 9th, 2011

  1. Wendy (Thornberry) Stonerock says:

    Hoping that you get encouraging news next week about this week’s chemo. Just know that you are thought about each and every day and that everyone who knows and loves you are sending you possitive wishes and keeping you in their prayers. Enjoy the good moments with your loving family to the fullest extent – love and joy can bring strength. God bless!!! Wendy

  2. Sandy says:

    I look forward to Wednesdays to hear how you are doing. So good to know all your kids are nearby. Take care, and I think of you often.

  3. Ruth Soules says:

    You have remarkable children Lin! Its so great to visit with Austin after so many years. He’s great. Tell Lorin…he is truly remarkable too! You are both in thoughts and prayers. Praying that you will receive encouraging news also about your chemo. Thank you for your friendship and wonderful example! May you have lots of love and joy and strength! God bless you always!—Ruth

  4. Sandy Block says:

    How wonderful to read words which came from your very own fingertips. Much love, my dear friend. You are always in my heart and on my mind

  5. Kadra says:

    Love you, Mom.

  6. Toni Stapley says:

    It’s so great to hear from YOU!! Not that Lorin isn’t a good stand-in. He’s funny and very interesting. He’s got such a nice style of writing. However, your voice is the one we all crave. I’m so happy for all the joy you have in your life right now with your family and friends. You are a memory builder and this time will be some of the very sweetest and best memories ever. I’m sorry I missed your Birthday. I’m so glad you made your grand appearance so many year ago. I’m sure your family made it special for you. You’ve taught them well by sweet example. Being late just extends the length of the celebration. Happy Late Birthday! I love you, Toni xoxoxoxox

  7. It sounds like you have a valiant support staff at your disposal! Many of my most difficult battles ended up being measured not by whether I won or lost, but by the quality of people who were my companions for the duration. I can say with confidence, your companions in this regard… are of the highest quality.

    Can’t wait to read whatever you put up next.

  8. Carol Fox White says:

    Here I am running the vacuum and disliking every minute of being a domestic technician (and failing). You popped into my thoughts and I thought I would take a break and send you some positive karma today. The sun is shining and hopefully the blizzards are over for awhile and you can enjoy looking out on the world.

  9. elizabeth gaylord says:

    “Life is not measured by how many breaths we take but by the moments that take our breath away”. With all your family around you, there will be so many of these moments.

    Love to you and your beautiful family,
    Beth

  10. Dian Stanley says:

    Good to see you writing again Lin!! Looks like a good weather week with lots of sunshine and moderate temps. Hope you can enjoy this good change!! I’m thinking good thoughts for you and keeping the good Karma going!

    Dian

  11. Jennifer Reeves says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day to my very special friend. Its wonderful to have so many people in our lives to share love and friendship with. Wishing you a joyous day. Love, good thoughts and prayers today to you and Lorin and your entire family.

    Love you,

    Jen

  12. Elizabeth says:

    Lin, you remain tenaciously determined, keep your sense of humor, and bulldog tenacity, it goes a long, long way… :o)
    Elizabeth

  13. Toni says:

    Stormy cold outside but warm happiness inside reading your blog. Layne is finally coming home from Okinawa the 10th of March. He starts his new position on April 10th. It’s been a long road but he’s finally going to be with his family. Family is everything!! I love you and your family. Sending love and hugs, XOXOXOXOXOX

  14. Deb Hillen says:

    Been thinking about you a lot lately. Hope you got to go out an enjoy a bit of our sunny weather before the fog rolled in today. I’ve sent a couple emails too, didn’t know if you were checking it or not.
    Sending you love, good karma, happy thoughts, positive attitude and anything else you need this week!
    Deb

Leave a Reply

