January 20, 2011

Back in the hospital. We made that decision to make her comfortable and to stabilize so we can be home and stay home this time. Earlier, Lin had a few really good days at home, lots of energy, but then the glitch.

The glitch was violent vomiting all night a few days ago meant that something was keeping the food from being “processed”. X-ray showed no apparent blockage. To keep nausea at bay, the hated NG (Nasal Gastric) tube was put in as soon as we arrived in the hospital and has been doing its job keeping the stomach empty of bile, so no nausea, also pain pump is newly calibrated and doing its job well also.

Lin just had a drainage tube placed in her stomach. I am in the hospital room with her. She is resting right now, deeply, as she does after these operations. This one was more like a procedure, really, no going to sleep. The tube is designed to drain the bile and if it works, in 24 hours we can ditch the NG tube. So far so good. The nutritionist has decided to switch her diet to glucerna and I have asked for a meeting with her to learn all the reasons.

Great to get a night’s sleep in “mine own bed”. Thanks to Kadra and Spencer for covering last night and today. Amazing what sleep does to mood and resilience and I hope everyone who reads this is attempting to take care of self–here’s the checklist: good nutrition, sleep, exercise, social interaction with positive and loving people.

We are hopeful we will soon find a way to get nutrition moving consistently. Or that her body will find its own way. A “nice” BM yesterday had the nurse dancing a jig. I merely applauded. Hope is that the stomach will start “doing its job” to contract and push digested food through…so using Reglan (a drug that makes her all shaky/jittery, but no other resort now) to try to jumpstart. But if it doesn’t work, we have backup measures in place. Meanwhile she is not nauseous, pain is managed, she is resting.

Though this is difficult, and we really, really do not want to be here, we are appreciative of our couple time together, and marvel at the way the family is rallying ‘round and the deep and personal conversations we are having. And even a little fun, believe it or not.

Our good friends the Addicks, from Baltimore, are coming out next week to “run the household” for as long as we need. They provide a thread of stability and good cheer combined with realism and from time to time entertainment that is always most welcome. We hope for Lin to be able to come home by middle of next week.

We appreciate everyone’s kind thoughts and prayers.

Family volunteers are now scheduled to stay with her overnight, here and at home.

Lin continues to display class, dignity and concern for others above self. She is constantly making sure that I am eating properly, for example, as I do not have a feeding tube running into my body like she does.

Lorin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to January 20, 2011

  1. Sandy Block says:

    Lin has always been and will always be a class act, but I hate that her classiness is being tested in this way. I am happy, though, that you are able to have time together as you travel this uncertain road and that you are having some laughs along the way. My prayers continue. Please squeeze her hand again for me and tell her I love her. Thank you again for your wonderfully descriptive narratives, Lorin.

  2. LINDA SCOTT says:

    BLESS YOUR HEART, LORIN THERES A VERY OLD SAYING I GREW UP WITH AND I WILL TENDERLY PASS IT ON TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY AND FRIENDS “I WISH I COULD WEAVE YOU A BASKET BIG ENOUGH TO COLLECT ALL YOUR TROUBLE AND WOES AND CARRY THEM AWAY” I AM SO GLAD YOU HAVE SUCH WONDERFUL FRIENDS AND FAMILY AND I KNOW THAT THEY RECOGNIZE THE GIFT THAT U AND LIN ARE SHARING WITH THEM EVERY DAY FIND HUMOR WHERE U CAN AND YES, FOOD ,SLEEP AND ENTERTAINMENT ARE VITAL! SO TAKE CARE L.S

    • Wendy (Thornberry) Stonerock says:

      If only wishes were magic, all of this heartache would be gone. Please, please know that you all are in my prayers and in my heart. Love a lot, laugh whenever possible and stay strong in faith. God bless each and every one of you. Love to you all – Wendy

  3. Carol Fox White says:

    Yes, Lin is certainly a class act and I believe from reading your posts that the entire family is. I can’t express my gratitude enough that you take the time to write the news here. Thank you again and again. Please hug Lin for me and I will continue my prayers and good karma. I do hope that you can get some rest as that is the key to being a good “side kick”. It is wonderful that your friends can come to help with the household.

  4. Chris Fuller says:

    Lorin~ Thank you for taking the time to let all of us know how Lin and you are doing. You have a gift for words when it comes to expressing hope, compassion, and so many other feelings. I find myself smiling, laughing, and crying everytime you post an update. What a treasure your entire family is! If you run out of family volunteers, all you have to do is mention in these posts that you need help and a lot of us will be there.

  5. Angela Leitzer says:

    The courage and spirit conveyed in these posts is inspiring. Though it has been many years since we last met, Lin is (Lin, you are…) such a vivid presence in my memory–the way she speaks, her thoughtful conversational style, her beauty and style, her intelligence–it doesn’t surprise me to read these entries so full of honesty, so demonstrative of her essential goodness. I add my poor prayers to the many, with true admiration and hope (…”the thing with feathers, that perches in the soul, and sings the tune–without the words, and never stops at all.”)

  6. DEB says:

    Hi Lin! I miss seeing you so much, you are surrounded by so many people that love you that I can’t imagine you could be in better care. Come back home soon.
    All my prayers are for you and your family.
    Love,
    Deb

  7. Suzanne Riggin says:

    Lorin, thank you for writing. I’ve checked the blog a hundred times since the usual Wednesday post and my heart sank a little more every time there was no entry – scared me to even wonder what might be happening. I, too, send love and prayers to you, Lin and all who care for you. C’mon, God; it’s not too late for a miracle and there was never a more deserving person than Lin.

  8. Jane Sells says:

    I love you Lin. Hugs ‘n kisses to you and the family. Nuff said.

  9. Linda Martin says:

    You are both in my thoughts and prayers every day. I am grateful that 40 years ago I named my first born after one beautiful lady. I love you, Lin.

  10. Diana Frerichs says:

    I have been away from the internet for the past 5 weeks and thinking about you every single day. So good to get the updates again. My love and prayers continue.

Leave a Reply

