January the 12th, 2010

This wll be short and sweet. After my 22 day ordeal, I was released from the hospital yesterday afternoon. Home has never looked so good. I am now officially “under hospice care.” Not the outcome we were hoping and praying for, but, as always, we are looking though time oriented lenses and not eternal one. It has been a difficult day – lots of emotions and dealing with a failing body. As always, your love and support are so appreciated. I am very weak – my sis (the doc) says you lose about 25% of you body strenth for every week you’re in the hospital and I believe i!. Trying to keep as active as I an so I can regain some of that lost strength.  We’re having some real winter weather finally.  Love and best wishes to all and apologies for being so out of touch – all my various tubes and technological gizmos while I was in the hospital made computer use quite uweildy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to January the 12th, 2010

  1. Sandy Block says:

    Thankfully you are home in you stone cottage surrounded by people and cats who love you. If Lorin attempted to smuggle the kitty into the hospital, he did not write about it. I wish I could be there to surround you with love, too, ‘cuz you know I do, sister-by-choice.

  2. Mickie Pittman says:

    Lin, I’m so glad you are home at last. Hope you can regain your strength and begin to feel better. Our prays and thoughts are with you and all of your family. Love,
    Mickie

  3. Lissa Bitton says:

    Glad you are home – hopefully will start feeling better sooner and be able to enjoy your family and friends! We have been kept up to date by Lorin and wish we were closer so we could help with whatever – you let us know if we can do anything from afar. Take
    full advantage and let everyone wait on you – you deserve it!

    Luv ya,

    Lissa

  4. Wendy Thornberry Stonerock says:

    Lin, I think about you every day and am glad that you are home with your family and friends. Just know that you are in my thoughts and that I pray that better health and God’s blessings are in store for you now and always. Wendy

  5. stitchindeb says:

    Hi Lin, Soooooo Glad you are finally home! I miss you and pray you get stronger every day. If you feel up to it , I sent you a longer email. I bet your home looks like a winter wonderland in this snow. Hugs to you!
    Deb

  6. linda scott says:

    please know you are all truly loved ls

  7. Jennifer Reeves says:

    So glad to hear you are out of the hospital. I know that was a difficult and long stay for you. I think of you daily and pray for you to have strength and feel joy and peace knowing you have the most loving family around you. You are constantly an inspiration to me. Love to you.

    Jen

  8. Annette says:

    So glad to hear you’re home! Please know that you’re in our prayers!!! Thinking often of you and the family!!!

    Jess and Annette Moulton

  9. Carol Fox White says:

    I’m glad that you are home. My thoughts and prayers are for you.

  10. Terri Lloyd says:

    Hi Lin! Sending thoughts and love at this difficult time to a friend with the sweetest smile ever. So glad you are home. You and your family are in our prayers.

    Hugs, Terri Lloyd

  11. elizabeth gaylord says:

    I’m very happy to hear from you that you are home. Your spirit is an inspiration to me–you are truly amazing. I hope you get your strength up soon so you can enjoy all the loving around you. Love to you and your family, Beth

  12. Elizabeth says:

    Auntie Em was right all along, “There is no place like home”
    “There is no place like home” “There is no place like home” – keep wearing those ruby red slippers Lin…sending love, multiple hugs, courage, strength, and stamina your way…warmly, e

  13. Pat Conner says:

    Sending love to all of you. Visualizing your renewed strength of body and marveling at your strenght of mind and courage, Lin. You’re amazing. Pat and Mike

  14. Toni Stapley says:

    Home again, home again jiggetty jog. My mom used to always say that. I know you are continuing to make lovely memories with the family and friends. My wish for you is peace, squeals of laughter, sweet moments, good meds and the energy to stay awake for the good stuff! I love and miss you. And, by the way, you look like a model in that picture of Kaydra(holding A), Molly Parker and you. WOW!! That’s goin’ in my book of remembrance. ((((((((((((((((Lin)))))))))))))))) That’s a huge hug. 🙂 Toni

  15. Virginia Fields says:

    Lin
    You probably won’t believe this, but I am completely at a loss for words to say anything appropriate at this time. I just read most of your postings on your blog, Terri Lloyd keeps me up on things and I finally clicked on your blog to catch up with all that’s been
    going on with you. I suppose like many others, my thoughts have been, Why Lin? Why, why, why is what we first question. And though that question may never be answered in this life, it’s our testimony of Heavenly Father and our Saviour Jesus Christ that makes these things tolerable, if that’s possible. Just know that my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family at this tough time in your life. I know you are a strong, strong woman with an even stronger testimony and I am so much better and blessed to have known you and associated with you the short number of years I did. One of my fondest memories of you is one time when I came to your house in Cedar Hill and you were saying how far behind you were with laundry and especially getting clean clothes folded and put in proper kids’ drawers. Then you make a remark about at least the clothes were clean even if the socks were mismatched – they had clean socks!!! Thinking about that I think of my 12 year old granddaughter, Arec’s girl, and the mismatched socks she DELIBERATELY buys and wears. She first bought them at a store in Disneyland this past summer when she and her daddy went. They have a whole line of mismatched clothing and she loves it!! It’s called, of all things, ‘Little Mis-matched’!!! I also still have my copy of your Christmas Yule Log that you gave me oh-h-h so many years ago. I don’t make it every year, but when I do or when I pass it going through recipes, I think of you. It’s the same copy you gave me – I’ve never recopied it and it says ‘From Lin Walker’ on it. Anyway, you left me with some smiles and fond memories and over the years away I have thought of you and your neat family often. God Bless you, dear lady.

  16. Linda Martin says:

    Glad you are back where your heart is. And thanks to Lorin for keeping us updated. I shed tears, I smile, and most of all I am filled with gratitude for a friendship of over 40 years and love for one amazing lady.

  17. Patricia Miller says:

    Aloha! You are in our prayers. Our little 3 year old prayed for you today! May the Lord bless and keep you.

  18. Dan Uhl says:

    Lin and family,

    I just got caught up on your ordeal. Wow! I really do not know what to say, but since that has never stopped me before, let me add a few thoughts. First, I am so glad that you have a wonderful family to draw support from. Second, please know that you will be in our thoughts and prayers. Not just you, but also your family.

    It has been a number of years since you moved from Sioux City. That was a sad year. But, you might be pleased to know that you and your family are remembered (in conversation) by my family more often than you might think.

    Like the time Lorin and the boys came to our house to recue my family from a bat while I was at work. And the several dresses that you made for my daughters. And we cannot drive by your old home without remembering the Walkers. And who can forget that flood! I remember with great fondness the campouts that Lorin and I (and others) would take the young men on. Shad, as a boy, really looked up to Seth and Seth was so good to him. I could go on and on with good and fond memories of your family.

    I wish there was something that I could do or say that would make everything “right” for you. But, alas, I am but an “human bean”. I trust and know that the Lord Jesus Christ has already made everything “right”, for you and all mankind. My prayer is that you may feel His hand at this time and always. I am so grateful for a knowledge of the Plan of Happiness and the Atonement of Jesus Christ as I know you and your family are. Families can be together forever – I know that to be true! I hope friends can be friends forever, too.

    The Lorin and Lin Walker family will always be friends of the Uhl family.

  19. Dian Stanley says:

    Hi Lin! Certainly not the outcome we wanted!! I read the comments from your friends and family and I am so thankful that you have so many wonderful people in your life to help you through this. I echo all of their thoughts and prayers and wish for you only happy thoughts!

    Dian

  20. DEB says:

    Hope your weekend was relaxing, thinking about you always!
    Deb

  21. Tom Mehle says:

    Just figured out how to post a comment. I have been wondering how; it does not look that hard.

    I have been following your blog silently for some time; Susan pointed me to it. I am glad that your health is permitting you to return home.

Leave a Reply

