December 8th, 2010

Special holiday greetings to all.  I appreciate so much your comments and emails – they give me a lifeline to the “real” world when my own world seems so topsy turvy.  My CT scan on the 2nd was a mixed bag.  My cancer markers had returned to their previous level – a disappointment to say the least.  My pancreatic tumor hasn’t changed in size since my diagnosis in August.  However, my liver has some new “mets” and the ones that were there before have grown some.  In addition there were a couple of spots on my lungs – inconclusive whether they are mets or something minor.  Dr. Singh has one more chemotherapy routine that we can try to get those markers down.  It is basically our last option.  I’m supposed to start that next Monday, the 13th.  I have mixed feelings about it.  I would likely lose my hair, which, while not the end of the world, would be hard for me psychologically.  And no guarantee that this one would work any better than the others.  For whatever reason, the chemo I have received or just my own particular body, the cancer is moving slowly despite the increasing markers.  He (Dr. Singh) is puzzled that I basically haven’t responded to anything he’s tried – unusual in his experience.  Other than that, my blood sugar appears to be under control.  Losing weight is still an issue – I just can’t seem to maintain or gain weight.  It gets complicated trying to balance the celiac disease, diabetes, and a total lack of appetite.  Still struggling emotionally but trying to remain upbeat and positive.  My sister visited last weekend and that was a boost – she came up from Oklahoma for two days to do some Christmas shopping and I tagged along! So that’s about it for this week.  I hope everyone is well and enjoying this special time of year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to December 8th, 2010

  1. Mickie Pittman says:

    Lin, I have plenty of weight that I can send to you. What part would you prefer? (Wish that I could really send it to you. I would look a lot better and maybe you would feel better). Sounds like you are doing well under the circumstances, even though you do have some heavy decisions to make. Just know that Heavenly Father will help you make those decisions and help you when you are down. Keep on going and know that we are pulling for you. Love, Mickie

  2. Pat Conner says:

    Lin – Thinking of you. Feel the hugs and love coming your way. Would gladly also send you weight, and hair – though mine is not a pretty as yours is. Those things fortunately do not make the person, and that essential spirit will never disappear. We’ll always “see” you at your best.

    You know we “Hinson’s” favor the “odds” a little differently. You’ll come to the right decisions for you, that I know. Pat, and Mike also.

  3. Elaine Cockerill Puening says:

    Lin, keeping you in my thoughts and prayers as you make the hard decisions about your treatment. Holiday greetings to you – may your holidays are filled with peace, love and the joy of your family! Love, Elaine

  4. Suzanne Riggin says:

    Lin, you know I love you with or without hair. You and yours are constantly in my prayers. I’ve had proof in my life that along with God’s will, prayer works! I am forever grateful for those several days in November that I was privileged to spend with you. You are an inspiration – in sewing and in living life. Love, Suzanne

  5. Wendy Thornberry Stonerock says:

    Please know that I am thinking of you and keeping you and your family in my prayers. Try and think positively and know that God is always with you. Hoping that 2011 brings you much better health and happiness. Love, Wendy

  6. Dian Stanley says:

    You are always in my thoughts. Didn’t your mother ever teach you it’s not what’s on the outside that counts? Your hair will grow back, just think, no maintenance. I know you will make the right choice for you, I just wish you didn’t have to make one at all!

    Enjoy the beautiful season!

    Love,
    Dian

  7. Marilyn Petree says:

    I am so sorry to hear all you are going through. You are and always have been a remarkable, invincible, daughter of God. Your spirit shines so beautifully that you need no hair….but I understand your desire to keep it . I have heard of a cooling cap that when worn during chemotherapy, keeps the chemicals from entering the blood vessels that supply the hair follicles, thus keeping the hair when ordinarily it would be lost. I can’t remember where I read about it…but know it exists and is being used successfully. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  8. elizabeth gaylord says:

    You are doing so well to keep up with your treatment and blood tests. We can only do the best we can do with our health, as you are doing. If you decide to go ahead with the chemo, I would recommend having fun with wigs! I had wigs when I lost my hair from chemo but I didn’t have fun with it–I just wore the ones that looked like my normal hair. I refused to wear the long neon yellow one that my husband got for me…but I should have ordered some long red glorious locks!

  9. Linda Ervin Scott says:

    Hi Linda- i wanted you to know that whatever you , your family and the doctors decide to do will be 100% correct because there is no right or wrong – so, please try and take some enjoyment from the holidays, drink some eggnog- or whatever !- read a remarkable book, listen to some great music and let people spoil you — and take care of yourself– here’s to a peaceful 2011 — affectionately. L.S.

    • Doug Booker says:

      Lynn, I just spent a couple of hours discovering 🙂 Lorin. Heard him speak a few months back and we just visited for the first time, networking and some amazing Godly aspects came out of it, more later on all.

      For now, I just wanted you to know that my wife, Sydney and I will keep you in our prayers. Hope to meet someday! My wife has been struggling with something for a few months now which seems to be something like the same as you are struggling with; some tests done, some more tested. She can fill you in on more later if she chooses. Her email syd.don@gmail.com

      Lorin is a great guy, as I’m sure it runs in the family huh? Anyway, just saying hello and we’ll be thinking of you. Take care and God’s best my friend. Doug Booker

  10. Chris Fuller says:

    That IS a mixed bag in your report. How unfair that you have the combination of celiac, diabetes, and no appetite….no wonder you can’t gain any weight back! I understand about the loss of hair feeling because I would feel the same way. It would be very difficult. Remember, though, that you already have a beautiful face to show the world while you have the treatments and wait for new hair to grow back. Not too many people can console themselves with that thought. Elizabeth mentioned something about wigs and that got me thinking…given how talented you are with sewing techniques and willing to experiment with fabrics, maybe if your hair does come out, you could somehow attach it to a headband or something similar and that way you would still have/wear your own hair…just a bit shorter. You could do it if anyone could! How nice that you and your sister could enjoy some time together! Keep smiling, Lin!!!!!!!! Hugs —— Chris

Leave a Reply

