November 24th, 2010

One thing this whole experience has taught me is to be flexible.  You literally never know from one day to the next what to expect.  Monday I went in for my chemo.  After they drew the requisite blood for the eternal blood tests they have to run they discovered that once again my platelets were too low to proceed.  So, no chemo this week.  They will try again next Monday.  Since I have to kind of psych myself up for the chemo experience, it was a little disorienting to suddenly not be having it and have a whole free afternoon.  I felt a little lost to tell the truth.  I have felt pretty well this week.  I was so thrilled to be able to attend all four of the classes that I have been teaching at Bernina last week and visit with those friends.  We are all gathering for Thanksgiving tomorrow – my oldest son and his family will get here tomorrow mid-morning after an all night drive from Bastrop, TX.  We will have 21 for dinner – it will be wild but fun.  Nothing much else to report – I am finding the holidays hard to deal with emotionally.  More melt downs than usual but I guess that’s just part of the way it is.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to November 24th, 2010

  1. Val Reaves says:

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!
    Val

  2. elizabeth gaylord says:

    Great things come only from doing small things with great love. You know that, Lin, and are reaping those rewards of those great gifts you have given. Enjoy your day with your family! 🙂

  3. Sandy Whitehead says:

    I’m glad you could be with all your family this Thanksgiving. Families can give strength, I think. This last week, we were in Utah with Craig’s family. The big news is that he’s gotten a job with American Fork, Utah, and we’ll be moving there the week after Christmas. Yikes. I enjoyed all their company. Unemployment can be draining, as you well know. I have learned from the bouts of difficulty that Heavenly Father knows well all that we need, and is more than capable of coming through for us if we have the faith that He can do it. Maybe a small thought, but huge to me in understanding, and testimony, from personal experience. I just don’t worry about it….I KNOW he will help us. And he hasn’t let me down. Sometimes I have put HF in a box, almost like saying, “You can do only this much for me”, which is so inane. We limit ourselves from blessings by not testing the word and testing our faith. Be brave, I have told myself. Rather to have faith than to wallow in despair. This is a long comment….I think of you and wish I could see you. Enjoy the holidays, trust in HF.

  4. Mickie Pittman says:

    Lin, The lack of chemo may have been a blessing in disguise. Perhaps you have felt better this week so you can better enjoy your family. Heavenly Father knows what we need the most, even better than we do. It was good that Austin and his family could come to Thanksgiving. Hope that you all had a good time.

    We had Alison, Mark, and Wendy and Philip and their boys for Thanksgiving and the weekend. It has been fun and busy.

    Hope next week will be a good one for you, too. Love, Mickie

Leave a Reply

